WTC Points Table: How Loss To South Africa Has Dented India’s Chances In World Test Championship | Cricket News

India’s seven-wicket defeat to South Africa in the third Test at Newlands in Cape Town not only stifled their dream of winning a Test series away from home against the Proteas but also undermined their progress at the World Test Championship (WTC). India slipped to fifth place in the latest WTC points table after Virat Kohli-led side lost the three-match series 1-2 to South Africa on Friday. On the other hand, South Africa has risen to the fourth position in this important victory.


India have played nine Tests in the second round of the WTC, winning four, losing three and drawing two. Despite winning the most number of Tests of any team so far in the WTC cycle, India is in fifth place because their PCT (percentage of points won) is lower than that of Sri Lanka, Australia, Pakistan and South Africa.

India’s PCT is now down from 55.21 to 49.07. India also lost three points due to slow over-rate.

Sri Lanka tops the list with two wins in two matches. South Africa improved their PCT to 66.66 with a win in the last two Tests against India.


Updated WTC point table

Australia, 3-0 up in the Ashes against England, are in second place with 63.33 PCT.


Pakistan is at No. 3 with 75.00 PCT.

The top two teams will qualify for the WTC finals at the end of the cycle. In the previous edition, India faced New Zealand in the final, which was subsequently won.

The ICC has made many changes to the WTC point system since the first edition. Under the new rules, the number of Test wins and series wins is not determined by standing, but by the percentage of points won (PCT). This was done so that each team would have to play in the WTC cycle to eliminate the discrepancy in the number of Tests.



Each team is scheduled to play six series – three at home and three away – but since the number of Tests in this series is different for each team, the ICC came up with the PCT.

Under the new system, a team can gain 12 points with a Test win, six points are reserved for a tie and both teams will get four points each in a draw. If a team is less than the mandatory over-rate, one point is deducted for each over.


Here’s how PCT is calculated in WTC

India have played nine Tests in the WTC so far. They could have scored a maximum of 108 (9 * 12) WTC points if they had all won, but they have won four, drawing two, bringing their total to 56. Three points were cut because they were three overs short. Mandatory over-rate. India currently has 53 WTC points. Thus, their PCT is 49.07, which ultimately determines permanence.

Topics mentioned in this article


Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment