UGC declares 24 universities fake, 2 more pending in court: Chief – Times of India

New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has declared 224 “self-sufficient” institutions as fake and violated two more policies, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has said.

The chief made the statement in response to a written question in the Lok Sabha.



You have successfully cast your vote

“Based on complaints received from students, parents, the general public and the electronic print media, UGC2 has declared 2 self-sufficient institutions as fake universities.” In addition, two other institutions, the Indian Council of Education, Lucknow, UP and the Indian Institute of Planning and Management (IIPM), Qutub Enclave, New Delhi, were found to be operating in violation of the UGC Act, 1656. Matters of Indian Council of Education, Lucknow and IIPM, New Delhi are pending in the court. .


Uttar Pradesh has a maximum of eight such fake universities – Varanasi Sanskrit University, Varanasi; Women’s Village School, Allahabad; Gandhi Hindi Vidyapeeth, Allahabad; National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Open University, Aligarh; Uttar Pradesh University, Mathura; Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan University, Pratapgarh and Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida.

There are seven such fake universities in Delhi – Commercial University Limited, United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR Centric Juridical University, Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, Bishwakarma Open University for Self-Employed University.

There are two universities each in Orissa and West Bengal. These are: Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Calcutta and Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Calcutta as well as Navbharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela and North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology.


There are one fake university each in Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Pondicherry and Maharashtra.

They are- Sri Bodhi Higher Education Academy, Pondicherry; Christ New Testament Deemed University, Andhra Pradesh; Raja Arabic University, Nagpur; St. John’s University, Kerala and Badganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Karnataka.

Elaborating on the steps taken by UGC against fake or non-recognized universities, the chief said, “UGC issues public notices in the national Hindi and English newspapers regarding the list of fake universities / institutes.”


“The commission has written to the chief secretary, education secretary and chief secretary of the state to take action against the university under their jurisdiction,” he said.

“Show cause for issuing invalid degrees to unauthorized organizations and issue warning notices when any self-styled organization is found to be in violation or working in the UGC Act, 1956.”


Source link

Read More Educational News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News


Leave a Comment