saharanpur: Saharanpur is suddenly capital of party-hopping | India News – Times of India

LUCKNOW / MERAT: Saharanpur in western UP has become a political potboiler as the pace of politics has picked up ahead of the UP elections. The district has witnessed the highest number of crossovers by various party ranks, including former UP minister Dharam Singh Saini, who left the Samajwadi Party on Friday.
Three days after Saini, a MLA from Nakur, officially joined the SP camp, three days after Congress heavyweight Imran Masood joined the Akhilesh Yadav-led party, the old party in the politically important region was left speechless. Saini defeated Masood twice – in 2012 as a BSP candidate and in 2017 on a BJP ticket. Saini had earlier won the 2002 and 2007 assembly elections from Saharanpur’s Sarasawa assembly constituency.
According to political analysts, the Saini community has a significant presence in Shamli, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Muzaffarnagar and Noida, and Dharam Singh Saini has influence in about 15 assembly constituencies where the Sainis number more than 30,000.
BJP sources said there was anger against the BJP after Saini was made Minister of State (Independent Duty). He was a cabinet minister during Mayawati’s rule from 2007 to 2012. Sources said Saini was also close to former UP cabinet minister Swami Prasad Maurya who raised the banner of rebellion against the BJP and raised a storm of resignation in the saffron camp.
Sources said that if Saini contests from Nakur, Masood may be shifted to Behat’s neighboring constituency where Congress MLA Naresh Saini has joined the BJP. Saini is known to be popular among the backward class and its constituencies. Not all of this. Imran’s twin brother Nawman Masood has also joined the Jayant Chowdhury-led RLD, SP’s ally, BSP.

!function(f,b,e,v,n,t,s) {if(f.fbq)return;n=f.fbq=function(){n.callMethod? n.callMethod.apply(n,arguments):n.queue.push(arguments)}; if(!f._fbq)f._fbq=n;n.push=n;n.loaded=!0;n.version=’2.0′; n.queue=[];t=b.createElement(e);t.async=!0; t.src=v;s=b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’, ‘’); fbq(‘init’, ‘593671331875494’); fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’); .

Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment