Rohit Sharma To Lead India In T20I Series Against New Zealand, Virat Kohli Rested | Cricket News

The Indian squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand on Tuesday has been announced and Rohit Sharma has been named the captain of the team. KL Rahul has been appointed as the co-captain of the 16-member squad. Virat Kohli, who stepped down as India’s T20I captain at the end of the team’s campaign for the ICC T20 World Cup, and head pacer Jaspreet Bumrah have been rested for the series. BCCI sources told NDTV that a number of senior players have been rested but all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been dropped from the squad. Hardick scored a total of 69 runs in three innings in the T20 World Cup. He has bowled a total of four overs in two matches and has scored 40 runs without taking a wicket.


“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has selected a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. India is ready to play 3 T20I matches starting from 17.M November, 2021, “said a statement issued by the BCCI.

The 16-member squad includes wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin and Bhubaneswar Kumar. All of these players were also in the T20 World Cup squad. Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer and Akshar Patel, who were on stand-by list for the tournament, were also included in the squad along with the Blackcaps. New Zealand are still in the UAE, where they will face England in the first semifinal in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Leg-spinner Yuzbendra Chahal has been called up for the team. Top batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and all-rounder Harshal Patel, who finished IPL 2021 as the highest run-getter and wicket-taker respectively, achieved an India call-up.


Left-arm opening batsman Venkatesh Iyer, who made his debut for Kolkata Knight Riders in the UAE leg of IPL 2021, was also called up for the first time in India. Delhi Capitals (DC) bowler Avesh Khan was also in the squad. He took 24 wickets in the 2021 IPL.


Mohammad Shami, Rabindra Jadeja and Shardul Tagore, who are in the T20 World Cup squad, have also been rested for the New Zealand series.


India’s T20 squad:Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (co-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kisan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzbendra Chahal, R Ashwin , Avesh Khan, Bhubaneswar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md. Siraj

Topics mentioned in this article


Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment