Congress Follows Assam Model In Manipur, Forms Six-Party Alliance



For last year’s elections in Assam, the Congress formed a 10-party grand alliance.



The Congress has followed its Assam model in Manipur, where state elections are scheduled for next month, forming a grand alliance with six political parties, including the Left. The alliance, whose name will be announced soon, includes Congress, CPI, CPM, RSP, Forward Bloc and Janata Dal Secular and will have a common minimum program.

For last year’s elections in Assam, the Congress formed a 10-party grand alliance called the Grand Alliance. However, the test was not very successful, with the coalition winning only 50 of the 126 seats in the state.

In Manipur, the combination is different and the BJP is expected to face tough competition.


Calling it a “day of joy for Manipur”, former state chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh of the Congress said, “This alliance is formed for the Assembly elections.

The alliance will have a common minimum program against the BJP-led alliance in Manipur, Mr Singh added, who was chief minister for a record 15 years from 2002 to 2017.

“For the state elections, we have formed this alliance, since an undemocratic, unconstitutional, communal party is in power in this land … through its neo-liberalism (it) has worked against the working class so it is time for secular parties to join. To defeat the BJP, Satin Kumar, CPI’s state secretary, said

Manipur Pradesh Congress president Nemirakpam Loken Singh said the parties were confident of defeating the ruling BJP in the state.


The parties have decided that the CPI alone will nominate their candidate for the Khurai assembly constituency and the Congress will field their nominee for most of the other seats.

There will be a friendly fight between the two parties in Kakching, as both parties have already announced their candidates for the seat.

There will also be friendly fights in a few other constituencies, as several coalitions have already announced their candidates.

Congress has already announced the first list of 40 candidates for this election and CPI has announced 2 candidates.


Elections for the 60 Assembly seats in Manipur will be held in two phases on February 27 and March 3. The vote count will be held on March 10.


Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment