Bypolls: “Unity Over Hate Politics”: Mamata Banerjee On Trinamool’s Bypolls Show




As the party candidate Udayan Guha is ahead, the Trinamool has started celebrating in the daytime.



Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s winning streak is likely to continue through by-elections, where her Trinamool Congress is on track to win two seats in the April-May state elections. The party is leading in all the four by-elections.

Although the count was not over, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulated the winning candidates, saying the results showed that Bengal would “always choose development and unity over the politics of propaganda and hatred”.

The elections in Dinhata and Shantipur were seen as a battle for prestige for the BJP, which is currently battling the resignation of MLAs and senior leaders.


The Dinhata constituency election – part of Kochbihar in North Bengal, which is seen as the BJP’s stronghold – became necessary due to the BJP’s resignation after the junior home minister took over at the Center.

The Trinamool is also leading in Shantipur, which was vacated after BJP MP Jagannath Sarkar resigned from the assembly.

Now, the Trinamool has started celebrating Dinhata as party candidate Udayan Guha is leading with 91,000 votes.


To add to the joy in the grassroots camp, the BJP is set to overtake the CPM in third place in Kharadha.

Kharadaha is the seat where former Kolkata mayor Shobhandev Chatterjee is contesting. Mr. Chattopadhyay left the Bhabanipur seat in Calcutta for Mamata Banerjee, who had to be elected to the Legislative Assembly within six months of the state election after her defeat from Nandigram.

Adding four more seats would add a record 213 grassroots seats in the state elections For the BJP, it would be a further blow to the face in a state where it unveiled its huge electoral machinery in hopes of snatching the state from Mrs Banerjee with more than 200 seats.



Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment