Allahabad University has not yet received approval from the Ministry of Education to delete Gulzar’s degree – Times of India

Prayagraj: Even after Allahabad University gave the final touches to the preparations for the convocation to be held on November 8, it is now clear that it will not be able to confer the honorary degree of Dilit on renowned lyricist Gulzar as the Union Ministry of Education has not given permission.

Also, Governor Anandiben Patel, who is the rector of AU, will also not attend the function due to previous engagements.



You have successfully cast your vote

“We have not yet received the approval of the ministry to confer the honorary degree of DLitt on Mr. Gulzar, and so he will not attend the convocation,” AU Public Relations Officer (PRO) Jaya Kapoor told reporters on Saturday. The decision to confer the honorary degree on Gulzar was taken by the Academic Council and the Executive Council of the University. In this regard, a proposal was prepared and sent to the Central Ministry of Education. However, the ministry did not agree to the proposal.


Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan will be the chief guest at the convocation ceremony. Similarly, Ashish Chauhan, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Managing Director of the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) will join the powers of the Chancellor.

A total of 263 medals will be awarded to meritorious students and 550 students will be awarded PhD degrees. These will be for the 2018-19 and 2019-20 academic sessions.

For the 2018-19 academic year, the Chancellor’s Gold Medal will be awarded to Himanshu Dubey of BALLB, Neha Mishra of BSc Bio to the Silver Medal of the Chancellor and Kulbhushan Tiwari of BA to the Bronze Gold of the Chancellor. At the same time, Shivanikar Rebati Vijay of MSc Cognitive Science in the postgraduate course will be awarded the Chancellor’s Gold Medal and Shreya Agarwal of the MSc Computer Science will be awarded the Chancellor’s Silver Gold Medal.


Under the undergraduate course of the academic session 2019-20, BCA’s Anshika Mittal will receive the Chancellor’s Gold Medal, BA’s Shalvika Upadhyay the Chancellor’s Silver Medal, BTech’s Urja Srivastava Chancellor’s Bronze Medal. In PG, Madhavi Singh of MSc Botany will be awarded the Chancellor’s Gold Medal and Shashank Mani Tripathi of MSc Biotechnology will be awarded the Chancellor’s Silver Medal.

For the first time in the convocation, awards will be given in the name of ‘Dronacharya’ and ‘Meghnad Sahar’. The names of the recipients of these two awards will be announced at the ceremony. Two teachers will be given Dronacharya Award and two scholars will be given Meghnad Saha Award for good research.

The minister will also inaugurate three buildings. The PRO said a girls’ hostel called Gargi Hostel would be inaugurated. The dormitory, located on the Women’s Hostel (WH) campus, has 124 seats. A 34-seat Chandrasekhar Azad International Hostel and Major Dhyanchand activities will also be inaugurated.

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘2009952072561098’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Source link

Read More Educational News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News


Leave a Comment