After Rajasthan Cabinet Reshuffle, 6 MLAs Named Chief Minister’s Advisors




Ashok Gehlot said those who did not get ministerial posts would be adjusted to other posts. File


Just hours after 15 ministers were sworn in to expand the cabinet, six MLAs, including three independents, have been appointed advisers to Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.


Twelve new faces have been included in the cabinet, fulfilling a key demand of former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot, whose rebellion rocked the state Congress government last year.

The Congress MLAs who have been appointed as advisers are Jitendra Singh, Rajkumar Sharma and Danish Abrar.

Independent MLAs Babu Lal Nagar, Sanyam Lodha and Ramkesh Meena have also been appointed as advisers to Mr Gehlot, according to a list released by the Chief Minister’s Office. All six legislators are thought to be close to Mr Gehlot and were running for minister.


Danish Abrar was among the three Congress MLAs who were in Delhi in July last year on the day of the uprising against Mr Pilot Mr Gehlot.

It was speculated that they were with Mr. Pilot but they returned to Jaipur and claimed that they had gone to Delhi for personal reasons.

He is now being considered in the Gehlot camp.


Jitendra Singh, Rajkumar Sharma and Babu Lal Nagar are former ministers.

Mr Gehlot said earlier in the day that those who did not make it to the cabinet would be given other political appointments.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Mr Gehlot said parliamentary secretaries, advisers and chairmen of boards and corporations would be appointed.


“Now, some will be advisers, parliamentary secretaries and chairpersons of boards and corporations. So, this is an effort on how we will adjust to the majority of legislators and move forward,” Mr Gehlot told reporters.

A party leader said the role and participation of newly appointed advisers in the government would be equally important.

The party leader said they would be given equal importance in the government.


According to sources, 15 parliamentary secretaries may be appointed.

Congress general secretary Ajay Maken, however, hinted that this was not the last cabinet reshuffle, saying new faces would be given a chance when someone wants to work for the party.

Mr Maken, while addressing the MLAs at the party office before the swearing-in ceremony, also lauded state party chief Govind Singh Dotasara, Harish Chowdhury and Raghu Sharma, who resigned as ministers to work for the party.


Mr Dotasara, Mr Chowdhury and Mr Sharma resigned from the cabinet on Friday, following the party’s “one man, one post” formula.

Mr Sharma has been appointed in-charge of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) for Gujarat and Chowdhury has been appointed in-charge of Punjab.

“The party high command and the chief minister have taken a balanced position. All regional and social equations have been considered in the cabinet reshuffle,” said a party leader.


“As there were limitations, it was not possible to meet the expectations of the people. For this, 15 parliamentary secretaries and seven advisers to the chief minister will be appointed and other political appointments will be made,” the leader said.

The 200-member assembly has 108 Congress MLAs. Out of 13 candidates, 12 have the support of independent MLAs.

With the inclusion of 12 new ministers today and the promotion of three ministers from MoS to cabinet posts, the state now has 30 ministers, which could be a maximum.


The state now has 19 cabinet ministers and 10 state ministers in addition to the chief minister.

(Except for the title, this story was not edited by NDTV staff and was published from a syndicated feed.)


Read More World News

Keep Reading Latest Breaking News

Source link


Leave a Comment